Print    Close This Window
National Junior Honor Society Inducts New Members

New NJHS inductees are seen next to current membersFourteen Unadilla Valley students were inducted into the National Junior Honor Society on Thursday, April 6.

The occasion was marked not only with the ceremonial induction of the new NJHS members, but also a poignant speech from Secondary Principal Frank Johnson, who was attending his final ceremony as principal. He is retiring at the end of the school year.

“Seek to understand. You will quickly learn that not all see the world the way you do. But don’t pre-judge others,” Johnson said in one of several sage pointers for success in life. “Rather, surround yourself with people who are different than you; who look different than you; who talk different than you. Doing so broadens your perspective, facilitates personal growth and develops empathy for others.”

The NJHS is in its 21st year at Unadilla Valley. It is a national organization with more than 1 million members designed to recognize outstanding students at the middle school level. Students must meet set academic criteria and be selected by a faculty council.

The core tenets of the NJHS are Scholarship, Leadership, Citizenship, Character and Service. There are 20 current NJHS members who heled induct the new 14 new members. Five select current members each lit candles and spoke about a tenet.

Cake and punch for the students and the many family members who attended capped the ceremony.

The new inductees include:

  • Alexandra Berthel
  • Keona Courtright
  • Gabrielle Cummings
  • Drew Emrich
  • Colin Gilbert
  • Ben Gorrell
  • Leah Gorrell
  • Emily Hill
  • Regan Sabines
  • Megan Scriver
  • Katrina Smith
  • Jeanette Weaver
  • Emilee Thompson
  • Alexis Wood