School tax rates

Tax rates for the three counties in the Unadilla Valley CSD (Chenango, Madison, and Otsego) are set each August. 

The rates are based on the tax levy for the year and final municipal assessments for each of the towns. Rates vary between the towns because property in each is assessed at different levels in relation to full market value. The state assigns each town an equalization rate to fairly divide the tax levy between the towns. The district does not control any part of the assessment or equalization process. The district sets final tax rates each August, after the towns finalize assessment figures and the state sets the equalization rates. 

Property owners in UVCSD can view their school property taxes by year and property at: 

STAR Program

The New York State School Tax Relief Program (STAR) provides New York homeowners with partial exemptions from school property taxes.

Homeowners who meet certain eligibility requirements through STAR can have a portion of their home’s assessed value exempt from school property taxes. Learn more about the STAR program

Tax bills

Tax bills are typically mailed by Sept. 1 and due by Sept. 30 without penalty. 

Unadilla Valley Central School taxes for Chenango, Madison, and Otsego counties are paid to: School Tax Collector, PO Box 845, New Berlin, NY 13411 (607) 847-7500 x1122.

Local assessor information

Please contact your local assessor if you have questions about your assessment, exemptions and address changes.

  • Town of New Berlin: (607) 847-8909, ext. 1005

  • Town of Columbus: (607) 847-6876

  • Town of Pittsfield: (607) 847-9885

  • Town of Morris: (607) 263-5060

  • Town of Edmeston: (607) 965-9823

  • Town of North Norwich: (607) 334-9224

  • Town of Norwich: (607) 337-2304

  • Town of Sherburne: (607) 674-4824

  • Town of Brookfield: (315) 684-9052

  • Town of Butternuts: (607) 783-2739